#dailyupdate introduction

I haven’t posted in a while because I didn’t have something to write. Having put so much effort to writing in other areas of my life, the forum didn’t make sense to me. Until tonight.

I am going to post a series of #dailyupdate’s, a place where I will share thoughts I’ve had throughout the day. It’s a place where I will hash out ideas that I think we should be talking about. And it’s a place where I want to force myself to articulate those issues. There might not be a theme, but there probably will be. You’ll see, so here we go.

#dailyupdate: i spent a lot of time today thinking about sectarianism (this will be a theme). what really is it? is it discrimination, a kind that can manifest itself in the quiet ways: limited job opportunities, stares and comments, racial or religious cliques. or is it bigger than discrimination, something more like persecution? does it start with something small, something that manifests as normal and almost desirable, but really just be representative of persecution? isn’t persecution after all really very bad discrimination? and my last question: isn’t it persecution that certain groups experience when they lose their land, their money, their family members, or their lives because they are different and have limited job opportunities, because comments are made about them, and because they stick to themselves because they aren’t welcome outside (or do they like it that way?)? i just don’t know.


Leave a Reply

